TV wakes up from its long winter’s nap

I know, I know — the first day back from the holidays is just the worst. Nothing but cold weather and that ugly sweater your Great Aunt Hilda gave you to look forward to for the foreseeable future. But, wait, what’s that I hear? Why it’s the pitter-patter of your favorite TV shows coming back from their long winter’s nap.

So, when can you expect fresh, new, shiny episodes of your shows again? Here is a rundown on some of the dates for the returning shows and midseason arrivals.

Today

Heroes (returns 8 p.m. NBC — regular 9 p.m. time starts Jan. 11)

Tuesday

NCIS (returns 8 p.m. CBS)

The Biggest Loser (new season premieres 8 p.m. NBC)

NCIS: Los Angeles (returns 9 p.m. CBS)

The Good Wife (returns 10 p.m. CBS)

Wednesday

Law & Order: SVU (returns 9 p.m. NBC)

Modern Family (returns 9 p.m. ABC)

Cougar Town (returns 9:30 p.m. ABC)

Ugly Betty (returns 10 p.m. ABC)

Nip/Tuck (new season premieres 10 p.m. FX)

Friday

Dollhouse (returns for final three episodes 9 p.m. Fox)

Sunday

Chuck (new season premieres 9 p.m. NBC — regular time slot of 8 p.m. Mondays starts Jan. 11)

Big Love (new season premieres 10 p.m. HBO)

Monday, Jan. 11

House (returns 8 p.m. FOX)

How I Met Your Mother (returns 8 p.m. CBS)

The Big Bang Theory (returns 9:30 p.m. CBS)

Tuesday, Jan. 12

American Idol (new season 8 p.m. FOX)

Wednesday, Jan. 13

The New Adventures of Old Christine (returns 8 p.m. CBS)

Criminal Minds (returns 9 p.m. CBS)

CSI: NY (returns 10 p.m. CBS)

Thursday, Jan. 14

Bones (returns 8 p.m. FOX)

Community (returns 8 p.m. NBC)

Parks and Recreation (returns 8:30 p.m. NBC)

30 Rock (returns with back-to-back episodes 9 & 9:30 p.m. NBC)

CSI (returns 9 p.m. CBS)

Fringe (returns 9 p.m. Fox)

Grey’s Anatomy (returns 9 p.m. ABC)

Private Practice (returns 10 p.m. ABC)

Project Runway (new season premieres 10 p.m. Lifetime)

Friday, Jan. 15

Law & Order (returns 8 p.m. NBC)

Sunday, Jan. 17

Human Target (new series premieres 8 p.m. FOX)

24 (new season premieres 9 p.m. FOX – first night of four-hour, two-part premiere)

Monday, Jan. 18

Life Unexpected (new series premieres 9 p.m. The CW)

24 (conclusion of premiere 8 p.m. FOX)

Thursday, Jan. 21

The Vampire Diaries (returns 8 p.m. The CW)

The Office (returns 9 p.m. NBC)

Monday, Jan. 25

Damages (new season premieres 10 p.m. FX)

Tuesday, Feb. 2

Lost (final season premieres 9 p.m. ABC)

Monday, March 1

Parenthood (new series premieres 9 p.m. NBC)

Thursday, March 4

Flashforward (returns 8 p.m. ABC)

Monday, March 8

Gossip Girl (returns 8 p.m. The CW)

Tuesday, March 9

90210 (returns 8 p.m. The CW)

Melrose Place (returns 9 p.m. The CW)

Monday, March 22

Nurse Jackie (new season premieres 10 p.m. Showtime)

United States of Tara (new season premieres 10:30 p.m. Showtime)

Tuesday, March 30

V (returns 10 p.m. ABC)

Tuesday, April 13
Glee (returns 9 p.m. FOX)

Way to dawdle, Glee. Also, how considerate of Thursday to continue to be a DVRs worst nightmare. So, which return or premiere are you most looking forward to? Now, don’t you feel better about the holidays being over?

More you may like