I received a gmail telling me I had a private message and to click on this link:
http://www.afterellen-d.mtvi.com/privatemsg
The problem is a LDAP authentication is required (WTF?), and it wouldn't accept my user name and/or password. What's up with that?
Submitted by
on November 30, 2007 - 8:37am.
hmmmm
A WHOIS search of mtvi.com reveals that the owner of the site is VIACOMM
(See http://whois.domaintools.com/mtvi.com). As AE is affiliated via LOGO with the company it would seem that the message you received is somehow site-generated. However, I am not certain how this occurred. Perhaps Sarah can enlighten us on this one. It likely has to do with part of the site code.
My guess is that it's some sort of spoofing spam.
Interesting. The wording
Interesting. The wording was identical to email notifications I've gotten previously. I didn't even realize there was a difference until I clicked on that link. I thought it may have been changed as part of the site upgrade. In any case, I wound up logging on the regular way to see if I could retrieve the message.
Thanks for the input. I'd still like to know what that link is.
No
Unless it is www.afterellen.com then my guess is that the link sent to you in the e-mail was a faulty one.
It is like those eBay things a little while ago, it looks the same, it acts the same, but if it's a different address then you're used to it is definitely NOT the same.
The Way The Cookie Crumbles
No Borders AllowedBut speaking of private messages...
am I the only one who never gets any sort of indication any more when there is a new message in the inbox? Ever since the last upgrade...I have no clue if there is a private message waiting for me or not...there is no longer any indicator...so I have to continuously check. Last week there even seemed to be a delay of a few days between when the message was sent and when I finally received it.
Anyone else having problems?
Pyewacket...
Thanks muchly! :^)
Weird. I've gotten that
I got some messages yesterday...
Sorry about this
The address afterellen-d.mtvi.com is our test server - that's where they were testing the upgrade before they rolled it out on the live site a few weeks ago. It must be accidentally sending out private message alerts - I'll let my tech team know about this first thing tomorrow (Monday) and they should be able to fix it within a day or so. Sorry again!
Sarah to the rescue! :)